Out of Control!

There are many reasons why one can like new technologies and technological innovations. But on the other hand there are also many reasons that make me skeptical about this entire information sharing and digitalization processes.

I always saw on the news how people’s passwords got stolen and they received an exorbitant bill for purchases they did not do. Unfortunately I am now one of them. I always thought things like that cannot happen to me because I am very careful with my passwords. But in a world where basically all your information is saved online there seems to be no way to protect yourself from abuse. I just got a notice from Apple that there was a purchase with my ID on a computer which was not used with this ID before. I was advised to change my password. I was scaptical in the beginning if this is a real or a fake mail. It was real and I changed my password immedialely. But of yourse if was too late already. Click&Buy just emailed me a bill of 80 Euros for the purchase of some online Poker App, which I never bought! Well, I am lucky that it was only 80 Euros and not 800 but still, the question is how to react now.

I did some research on the internet and this is what I found: Apple seems to have a serious problem with hacker attacks since last year, but especially since may 2011. Here you can find detailed information about this issue. Many people became victims and I am now one of them, unbelievable. This is the story of another victim:

http://www.betanews.com/article/I-got-hacked-on-iTunes/1306964962

Further I read the shocking story that hacked iTunes accounts are sold in China (http://www.idownloadblog.com/2011/01/14/hacked-itunes-accounts-are-being-sold-in-china/). I am totally speechless about that.

I wrote to Click&Buy and informed iTunes and my bank about that issue. Further I will have to go to the police station. That is just so crazy…And I honestly hope I will get my money back. I am totally not convinced of all these online payment systems and I will remove all my bank data from the internet for sure. In my opinion, everything that is on the internet is not safe!

As technology gets more complex the more ways hackers find to access your confidential data. Recent actions taken by Sparkasse and other banks prove that. From now on TAN lists can’t be used anymore. Due to the lack of security they switched to SMS TANs hoping that this is a better option. I think it is just a matter of time until hackers find a way to hack your cell phones as well. Even though technology simplifies ours lives I guess I will never become a big fan of it. Have you had any similar problems?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

